Music Collection

Includes song like a Hurricane

I’ve collected music forever. CD’s line the walls,
stacked to the ceiling, rock, pop, soul, rhythm and blues,
a scrapbook of my past, a personal journal of memories.

Songs like “Stairway to Heaven”, a Zeppelin classic,
remind of Monica, my first love,
sweetheart, best friend—we were just teenagers

“I can’t Get Know Satisfaction”, a Stone’s anthem,
still jolts, energizes, inspires me,
to sing,dance like a teenager

Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side of the Moon”,
a psychedelic song,
flashback to mum’s basement.

My buddies and I smoking a joint,
minds buzzed, a million miles away

Neil Young’s “Like a Hurricane”
stirs memories of another life
With the ex-wife, so many hardships,
difficulties, so long ago,
We mixed like oil and water.

Most of the time, my music collection
remains stored away, forgotten, collecting dust,
like old paperbacks, lining a bookshelf.

On special occasions,I dust off a few songs,
play them on the stereo.

If I’m in the mood, feeling energized,
I’ll dance in the dark, mind wondering,
recalling the past.

I often wonder where Monica is,
what she’s doing now.

About Dave Hood

Lover of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction. Professional photographer and writer. Without the arts, life would be rather mundane, like a walk down the same old path on a dull day.
This entry was posted in Music Collection, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

