Found Objects: Stone Art

A photograph often can describe what words cannot, and so I take my point-and-shoot digital camera everywhere. The other day, while strolling along the boardwalk in Toronto, I noticed a few people building stone sculptures with found rocks on the beach. I thought the image was interesting, so I took a photograph. In fact, this year, I’ve taken a photograph every day. It’s a creative way of capturing life, as well as improving my composition.

Over the past few months, I’ve taken candid images of people engaged in routines on the street, bush shelters, traffic signs, garbage cans, fire hydrants, architecture, vintage automobiles, and more. I have discovered that taking pictures has improved my awareness of  sensory details —images, smells, taste, touch, and sound. In other works, snapping pictures has helped me to live mindfully, in the present moment.

Living mindfully has also improved my writing. When writing, I can now recall the details of things, for instance, the  attributes of a maple tree or  features of a daisy. I have also learned to appreciate the simple pleasures of life, instead of passing ordinary things, such as a fire hydrant, without noticing it. I have realized that most found objects or man-made constructions are like art, especially if you frame them in the right context. Oscar Wilde once said, “Life imitates art far more than art imitates life.”

About Dave Hood

Lover of poetry, fiction, creative nonfiction. Professional photographer and writer. Without the arts, life would be rather mundane, like a walk down the same old path on a dull day.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Photographs and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

